Part of the Process

Thoughts on becoming a teacher.

Positive Thinking

2 Comments

During the very first night of class, Allison brought up the idea of looking for competencies in children and their families. Around the same time, I read “Assuming Positive Intentions” on Elementary, My Dear, or Far From It about how people are trying their best. Both of these related ideas are so simple but I’ve been thinking about them ever since.

I feel that I am a pretty patient most of the time in my interactions with the three year old children in my class, I also feel like it is important to have refreshers and reminders about the ways we should interact with children. When one of my kids has a day where they seem to just not be able to follow directions or listen, or I am met with what I feel are unreasonable demands from parents, I have found “everyone is trying their best” running through my head. Keeping this in mind has helped me try to see things from someone else’s perspective and to be more understanding and patient.

We have been talking about standardized testing a lot recently and I have tried to keep these principles in mind during these discussions. I think it is easy to get carried away when thinking about these big, frustrating topics and move into blaming the nameless “They”. It can be powerful to remember that the people responsible for things that we see not working so well in our educational system were also working with good intentions (at least for the most part).

I hope that I will be able to carry these ideas of looking for and assuming the positive  in my future as an educator.

2 thoughts on “Positive Thinking

  1. I’m so glad that you shared your thoughts about this! It’s so true that in teaching we’re going to run into all sorts of situations in which patience is key. Having this mindset is so important, and I’m so glad that you brought it up. I think staying positive along with maintaining that patience on harder days is what will be important in helping us to be great educators. I was talking with one of my co-teachers at the daycare that I work with, and we were struggling with a situation with a child and his family this past week, my co-teacher feeling that the parents just didn’t care what went on at daycare. This is a good reminder that there may be factors that we are disconnected from when feeling frustrated.

  2. This post really made me think about how I react when I interact with the students in the after school care that I work at. I feel as though I have found myself getting more and more frustrated as time goes by. After reading this, I have come to see that I need to take a step back and realize that people are trying their best. This also got me thinking that another way to think about this might be to realize that different people, whether it is other adults or your students, may have different intentions in what they are doing. Keeping this in mind, they may be trying their best and even accomplishing what they are trying to do, but it may not align with what you want. I really appreciate this post and I feel as though I will really benefit from it! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

