Part of the Process

Thoughts on becoming a teacher.

Looking Back

3 Comments

One year ago, I spent a week in Yakima observing at the middle school my dad and stepmom teach at, as well as in the elementary school where a close friend teaches at. I’ve been thinking about that week, remembering all the different experiences I had. Reflecting back on that week has really opened my eyes to all the learning that I have done this year. I have so many new ways to view and interpret those experiences. I have many more understandings about why things were done they way they were.

For the past several weeks, I have felt overwhelmed on many occasions. Overwhelmed by my present and overwhelmed by the future. Trying to look forward too far is a daunting task. I’ve found that reflecting back on my week spent observing in Yakima has helped me not only celebrate how far I’ve come, but it also alleviates some of the worry for the future.

3 thoughts on “Looking Back

  1. I too have been looking back to my volunteer experiences in schools before this program. I am reminded of actions or lack of actions the teachers I observed took, and wondered why they made these decisions. I have also been thinking back to the methods they used for classroom community, organization, and instruction. I feel that whenever I volunteered I just got snap shots of the classroom, and some things just didn’t make sense. Now that we have been spending extensive amounts of time in the classroom, I feel like I am finally beginning to see the whole picture. I am realizing that each action the teachers took had insight and purpose behind it. Things will begin to make sense to us when we can finally see the big picture. We will get there! Keep strong and positive! =)

  2. Your post reminds me of the thinking I have been doing on my volunteer experience prior to starting this program. Like you, looking too far into the future right now is more daunting then anything. But thinking back on how far I have come from volunteering with my former fourth grade teacher makes me realize the accomplishments I have made and makes the future see less daunting. I think that there is so much “in the moment” that seems overwhelming and stressful but we get thru it and the accomplishment of that helps us to keep pushing forward. I appreciate your honesty in this post, it helps me realize that I am not alone in my overwhelming emotions at times. There is so much of this process that helps in creating the courage and determination teachers need to persevere through the hard times.

  3. I feel the same way! I remember my volunteer time in a South-Seattle school, and how confused I was by some of the things I saw going on around me. Now, here I am, a year later and like you, I am finding a great deal of satisfaction in reflecting on that time. I feel like I have a lot more context now and I am re-living those experiences and learning new things from them as I do so.

Leave a Reply

